At the beginning of each relay, you are generally allowed to have two (2), three (3), five (5), or an unlimited number of sighter shots, depending upon which governing bodyವles (i.e. National Rifle Association, American Single Shot Rifle Association, etcࡲe being used by the match organizers.

Sighter shots are like practice shots to enable you to refine your sight settings for your relay before having to shoot your 10 or 15 rounds for official record score (depending upon whose rules you are using and the format of the match you are shooting / one day vs. two-day).

Although you may need to take more than the allowed number of sighter shots before your first shot actually 崳 on paperനe first shot that hits anywhere on the target is considered to be your first sighter shot.

Letࡳsume that you are allowed to take three (3) sighter shots before having to go for your record score. Hopefully, your next two shots will also hit the target and be much closer to or even in the 䠲ing than was your first shot. But even if your next two shots were to miss the target completely, according to the rules of your match, you would have taken your three allowed sighter shots.

At this point, depending upon the rules of the match, you may be faced with making a decision. If the ﮶ersion裂sighter shots is allowed, you will need to ask yourself the following question ㄯ I want to convert or use any of my sighter shots for my official score?༢r>
Basically that means, according to the rules, that you may use any or all of your sighter shot scores as your official record scores by ﮶erting䨥m.

So for example, letೡy that your first sighter shot was a 䬠your second sighter was a 䬠and your last sighter shot was a Ԯ You could use any or all of those shots as your official record shot scores if you chose to do so.

But, hold on 䨥re may be a catch. Once again according to the rules being used, although you may be allowed to convert sighter shots for score, you may also be required to convert them in 嶥rse orderԨat means that the last sighter shot you made has to be the first shot converted, the second sighter shot you made has to be the second sighter converted, and the first sighter shot you made has to be the last shot converted.

In the example given above, if the rules for your match specified being able to take three (3) sighter shots, you might choose to convert the Ԡand the 䠍 and use them as your first two 壯rd㣯res, but discard the 䮠That would leave you with 13 壯rd㨯ts remaining to make your 15 official record shots (in a 15 shot match format).

Sounds simple enough, right? Well, letഡke another example and see if your thinking would change.

Letೡy that your first sighter was an 䬠your next sighter was a 䬠and your last sighter shot was a 䮠Now, using the same rules that applied in the example above, you could convert those three sighter shots in reverse order, meaning that you would have to take the 䠦irst, the 䠳econd, and 䠬ast.

What would you do? Would you be willing to take a 䠩n order to use the 䠍 and the 俠Or, would you discard all three sighter shots and simply start shooting your 15 rounds for official score?

Remember, in the example given above, your shots seem to be moving away from the center of the target rather than getting closer to the center of the target. It͊quite possible that if you donୡke the correct sight adjustment before your next shot, it might miss the target entirely and you would be scored with a 鳳ᮤ 䠰oints!

At this moment in time, it pretty much boils down to, ﷠confident am I that I will be able to shoot better scores with my official record shots than I did with my sighter shots?좲>
If conditions are good (i.e. the wind is steady, the lighting conditions are favorable, thereய smoke in the air, etc๯u may want to discard all of those sighter shots and tell your spotter that you are now taking your record shots.

On the other hand, if conditions are poor or deteriorating fast (i.e. the winds are gusting and unpredictable, it೴arting to rain, itযggy and hard to see, or because there is no wind thereࡠgrowing cloud of white smoke obscuring your view of the target) you just may want to accept any hit on the target and use it for your official score and be happy you got it.

Remember, one of the things that will hurt your final score is having a miss or multiple misses on your scorecard. Even scoring a 䠩s better than having a 䠡ny day of the week!

By Darryl Hedges

Copyrightⰱ0 All Rights Reserved.


HOME          DISCLAIMER          CONTACT US          SITE MAP

Web Site design and development by

Designed by rolex replica Hong Kong designer Kitmen Keung dual time zone watch Long Distance, the watch is a minimalist design, 39mm stainless steel case replica rolex and black leather strap, the golden shell will have a replica watches uk strong sense of luxury, watch dial Two black and white timepieces representing different regions of replica watches the time.